And the Gold Glove Goes To …

The Rawlings Gold Glove Award is the most prestigious fielding award given out in baseball. Each year two Gold Gloves, one for each league, are given out to the best fielders at each position. This year, there were 19 total winners (thanks to a tie in the NL). Out of these esteemed fielders, 7 are represented in Baseball Treasure’s inaugural set. Here are some highlights from each fielder.

American League™ –

Mookie Betts

  • This is Betts’ third Gold Glove in three consecutive years. Betts was on a different level offensively in 2018. However, this award shows his value defensively as well. This season, he led all major league right fielders with 20 defensive runs saved.

Salvador Perez

  • This is Perez’s fifth Gold Glove in the past six years. He has long been one of the most consistent, and best defensive catchers in baseball and that didn’t change this year. This year, he threw out 46% of runners trying to steal, an MLB best.

National League –

Corey Dickerson

  • This is Dickerson’s first Gold Glove win, and a win that put to rest any worries that he was only a offensive threat. After getting traded from the Rays to the Pirates earlier this year, he played some of the best defense of his career. In 2018, he was in the top among left fielders in range, putouts, double plays, and defensive runs saved.

Freddie Freeman

  • This is Freeman’s first career Gold Glove. After being the cornerstone of this Brave’s team for many years, some thought that this Gold Glove of his was long overdue. This season, Freeman was both incredibly valuable and durable, starting 160 games, and contributing 12 defensive runs saved.

Anthony Rizzo

  • This is Rizzo’s second Gold Glove and thanks to a tie, he and Freeman both ended up with the award at first base. In 2018, Rizzo was a model of consistency for the Cubs. In 153 game, he only committed seven errors, for an impressive fielding percentage of .995.

Yadier Molina

  • This is Molina’s ninth career Gold Glove win and one that will continue to cement his ongoing legacy as one of the best defensive catchers of all time. Over the course of 2018, he logged over 1000 innings behind the plate and only allowed 27 stolen bases.

Nolan Arenado

  • This is Arenado’s sixth Gold Glove win for his sixth season up in the big leagues, the second longest streak in MLB history. He is known for his highlight reel plays at third base but in 2018, he also led the league in total chances, putouts, assists, and double plays.

#JoinTheHunt!!! Pick up some packs of Baseball Treasure today and see if you can pull any of these Gold Glove winners –